The Byproducts of Biking to Work

Standard

In mid-August I began riding my bike to work regularly three to four times a week. The reasons I decided to start pedaling to work were partly exercise, partly savings, and partly because I am in a unique position to do so. Not everyone is conveniently living a few miles from their workplace, so I figured I’d change up my routine.

I expected to feel better physically, but I didn’t expect the change in routine to have some of the other impacts I’ve experience. Let’s call them cognitive byproducts of biking? I’m not a scientist.

Biking to work daily is challenging me not only to get from point A to point B, but to anticipate Point A.1, Point A.2, etc… and how to do it in away that makes the journey gratifying.

Driving to work is relatively thoughtless, right? We can pretty much wear whatever we want, carry whatever we want, and navigate without fear of being squashed like a pancake.

Overall, the process has made me a lot more thoughtful. I wake up a lot earlier. Some experts said that a bunch of successful people also wake up really early, so that’s not a bad thing.

I begin to strategizing what food I should eat (people fuel) to timing (avoid morning rush) to supplies I need for the day(what I absolutely need, what I don’t) all before the sun is up. I also feel exempt from a “daily grind.” I am able to take it slow, stop for a coffee, take some photos.

Oh and all this occurs twice a day. Home and back.

Biking is the bomb.

